Saturday, September 8, 2012

Vegan chocolate? You bet!

You may have wondered, as many other people have, if chocolate is vegan. The answer to this question is yes and no. Chocolate itself starts out being vegan, but not all of the chocolate you come across may be. It all depends on what people put into it and what they do with it. The good news, however, is that there are vegan chocolates, and they taste amazing!
Whether you are a vegan yourself, know someone who is, or you have allergies or intolerances, there may come a time when you are in need of some vegan chocolate. Many people do not realize that there are “hidden” ingredients that may render chocolate non-vegan. If you are buying it as a gift for someone else, it’s important to know what vegan chocolate is, and that it does indeed exist!
    The good news about vegan chocolate is that there is no compromising on flavor. In fact, most people find vegan chocolate to be superior to milk chocolate because you actually get more of the chocolate taste, and less of the milk taste. Vegan chocolate also tends to be more satisfying and is higher in antioxidants.
    What can make chocolate non-vegan? Those chocolate varieties that tend to have milk or milk byproducts in them, for starters. If there is milk, or any of its derivatives, it is not vegan. Some of the ingredients you need to watch out for that make it non-vegan include milk, lactose, whey, butter, cream, nougat, casein, milk fat, and a variety of others.
    Vegan chocolate does not contain any of these milk derivatives, nor does it contain any eggs, gelatin, or other non-vegan ingredients. At Premium Chocolatiers, we specialize in providing top-of-the-line vegan chocolates that are sure to please. Whether you are looking for Halloween Vegan Chocolate and candies, Thanksgiving vegan chocolates, vegan chocolate truffles, or you would like vegan chocolate gifts for someone, we have you covered!

1 comment: